Tag Archives: Philippine Basketball News

UAAP Finals 2017: Ateneo draws first blood, defeats DLSU 76-70

25 NOV 2017 •Mall of Asia Arena UAAP Season 80 UAAP Finals 2017 News: Ateneo Blue Eagles took Game 1 of UAAP Season 80 men’s basketball Finals over the De La Salle Green Archers, 76-70, this Saturday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena. Thirdy Ravena and the Nieto brothers led a balanced Blue Eagles attack to upset the breakout game of Archer Aljun Melecio, who dropped 24 points in Game 1. Ravena powered ADMU with 12 points, 6 rebounds and 4 assists, while Mark and Mike Nieto contributed 11 respectively.

UAAP News 2017: FEU Tamaraws gores Ateneo Blue Eagles, 80-67

20 NOV 2017 • Araneta Coliseum UAAP Season 80 UAAP News 2017: FEU Tamaraws pierced the Ateneo Blue Eagles, 80-67 in their UAAP Final Four showdown this Sunday at the Araneta Coliseum. The stunned Blue Eagles never recovered starting from the third quarter as the Morayta dribblers made a 9-0 run to build a huge 12-point lead, 52-40 in the third quarter. Ron Dennison led the fiery Tamaraws with 17 points and 8 rebounds, while former Eagles Arvin Tolentino chipped-in 13 baskets.

San Beda Red Lions edges Lyceum Pirates, bags 21st NCAA title

NOV 16 2017 Araneta Coliseum Letran Knights logo NCAA 2017 News: The San Beda Red Lions cracked the Lyceum Pirates, 92-82, to record their 21st NCAA Men’s basketball championship title at the Araneta Coliseum. Robert Bolick wowed the 14,693 watching fans with his 18 points, 5 rebounds and 6 assists. Donald Tankoua also made waves with his monstrous 17 markers and 17 caroms, while David Potts chipped-in 15 baskets.

UAAP News 2017: La Salle halts Ateneo juggernaut, 79-76

11 NOV 2017 •Smart Araneta QC UAAP Season 80 UAAP News 2017: De La Salle University Green Archers froze the blitzkrieg of Ateneo De Manila Blue Eagles, 79-76, to end the UAAP Season 80 rivals showdown at the Smart Araneta Coliseum late yesterday. Ben Mbala led the Archers with 28 points, 19 rebounds, 6 blocks and steals, while Ricci Rivero chipped-in 21 markers for La Salle.

PBA D-League 2017: Racal cracks Cafe France, enters Finals

MAR 28 2017 Ynares Sports Arena Philippines Racal logo Aspirant’s Cup: Racal enters PBA D-League Finals 2017 after eking-out a victory against rival Cafe France, 78-74, this Tuesday at Ynares Sports Arena. Kent Salado led the Tile Masters with 16 baskets, 8 dishes and 6 caroms, while Allan Mangahas dropped 15 markers with impressive 5 of 7 clip from the rainbow arc.

PBA 2016: San Miguel humbles Ginebra, bags PBA Three Peat 2017

MAR 6 2017 Araneta Coliseum Philippines San Miguel logo PBA 2017 News: San Miguel defeated Ginebra, 91-85, and brought home the three-peat championship crown in the PBA Philippine Cup 2017 at the Araneta Coliseum this Sunday. San Miguel ended the series with 4-1 finals slate. “The Kraken” Junemar Fajardo and “Spiderman” Arwind Santos topbilled for the dominant Beermen with 21 big points apiece.

UAAP 2016: De La Salle Green Archers cracks UAAP title, dismantles Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles, 79-72

7 DEC 2016 •Araneta Coliseum UAAP logo UAAP 2016 News: De La Salle Green Archers edged Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles, 79-72, to clinch UAAP Season 79 championship title on Wednesday at the Araneta Coliseum. Finals MVP Jeron Teng dropped the whopping 19 of his 28 points haul in the first half, while MVP Ben Mbala contributed double-double 18 baskets with 18 rebounds and two shot blocks. It is DLSU’s ninth title in UAAP history.

PBA 2016: Ginebra upsets Meralco, clinches PBA Governor’s title

OCT 20 2016 Araneta Coliseum Philippines Ginebra logo PBA 2016 News: Barangay Ginebra San Miguel edged Meralco Bolts, 91-88, to bag the PBA Governor’s Cup 2016 championship title on Wednesday in Araneta Coliseum Quezon City. Helping Ginebra end their eight-year title drought was import Justin Brownlee, courtesy of a dagger clutch trey with 5.5 seconds left.